Skip to main content

Parliamentary debates and questions

S5W-14383: Lewis Macdonald (North East Scotland)

Scottish Labour

Date lodged: 5 February 2018

To ask the Scottish Government who the members are of the Decommissioning Challenge Fund programme board.

Answered by: Paul Wheelhouse 28 February 2018

The Decommissioning Challenge Fund (DCF) Programme Board members are drawn from government, academia, and across industry, bringing with them a diverse set of skills and opinions to provide detailed scrutiny of projects. Details of the members are included in the following table.

As advised by the Programme Board further independent financial and commercial due diligence has been procured to provide further project scrutiny.

Name / Organisation


Chris Stark, Director for Energy and Climate Change, Scottish Government


David Ritchie, Deputy Director, Energy Industries Division, Scottish Government

Deputy Chair

Nigel Lees, Decom North Sea

Decommissioning Industry Sector Representative

Mike Tholen, Oil and Gas UK

Industry Body Representative

Paul de Leeuw Robert Gordon University Oil and Gas Institute

Academia Representative

Roger Esson Oil & Gas Technology Centre

(Deputised by Stephen Sheal and Brian Nixon of OGTC at Programme Board meetings)

Industrial Innovation Representative

Colin Parker (Formerly Aberdeen Port)

Ports Representative

Andy MacDonald, Scottish Enterprise

Enterprise Agency Representative

Rachel Hunter, Highland and Islands Enterprise

Enterprise Agency Representative