Skip to main content

Parliamentary debates and questions

S5W-15135: Mike Rumbles (North East Scotland)

Scottish Liberal Democrats

Date lodged: 7 March 2018

To ask the Scottish Government which universities offer teacher training courses, and for what subjects.

Answered by: John Swinney 16 March 2018

There are 9 institutions currently offering Initial Teacher Education programmes. These are :-

University of Aberdeen

University of Dundee

University of Edinburgh

University of Glasgow

University of Highlands and Islands

University of Stirling

University of Strathclyde

University of the West of Scotland

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

The details of the programmes are available from each institution rather than held centrally by the Scottish Government.

The Scottish Government recently announced that Queen Margaret University and Edinburgh Napier University will offer Initial Teacher Education programmes for the first time next year. Supported by a £1.3 million investment from the Scottish Government, the programmes will start in August 2019.